BlueWallet LNDHub Balance showing in On-Chain BTC Wallet

Cross-posting as I’m not sure if this actually belongs here. Original post was reply to Announcement here: Umbrel + BlueWallet + LNDHub - #61 by atlantis

Question if someone can help. I’m very new at this, but have managed to set up and fund my lightning wallet and fund channels. I set up the BlueWallet integration today, linked Blue Wallet HUB, and added funds to my personal BlueWallet Lightning Wallet via sending BTC from Cash App.

I do now see the funds in my BlueWallet app, but have noticed that the funds were also added to my Bitcoin wallet on the node itself. How does this work? doesnt that mean I can now spend those funds from my node’s bitcoin wallet, and if so, what happens to the duplicate lightning funds in blue wallet?

the transfer did show up in the transaction list, but it also increased my Bitcoin balance on Umbrel. Is this a bug?

Note the image here. Before this addition from CashApp to Blue Wallet, I had 35k sats or so in my Umbrel Bitcoin Core Wallet. After the transfer of 61k sats, it shows as a deposit in the Bitcoin core Wallet and balance is increased by that amount.

Just so you can see, my blue Wallet lightning balance also increased. At first I thought I had accidentally transferred to my on chain Wallet, but no because it shows here too.

Note that I found someone with I think the same issue, but not sure if that was resolved. Blue Wallet Lightning Node

To add additional context, I used the “Refill with External Wallet” button under “Manage Funds” in the Blue Wallet app and sent from an on-chain custodial wallet (cash app) to produce this issue. Can someone else try this on their instance to verify what is occurring here?

1 Like

I think this is a bug / issue with Bluewallet LNDHUB and not of Umbrel.
What you did is the following (as far I understand from your explanation):

• you linked a LNDHUB from your Umbrel node (empty LN wallet) - OK done