Electrum Server (electrs) installed but not connecting to Bitcoin Core

My bitcoin node appears to be up and running (lightning wallets have no problem connecting to it), but my Electrum server shows it’s status as “Running” and “Waiting for Bitcoin Node to finish syncing…”.

I am also seeing higher CPU usage than I expected given my hardware, but given that I am new to this I’m not sure there is anything abnormal there.

Is what I’m seeing normal behavior? Does Electrum Server take a while to index or do some other operation? I installed electrs after my bitcoin node was fully synced.

Thank you!

Same here.

I tried to reboot a few times, didn’t help.

What I am trying now (and seems to work) is I uninstalled Electrum Server, then installed it again. Where it used to say “Waiting for Bitcoin Node to finish syncing…” it now shows a progress bar and says “x% synchronized”. Now at 30% after about 1h.

Electrum is a large database of sorted UTXOs, needs RAM and high disk speed access time to be something fast.

I have the same issue, turns out it Tor is way too slow here for me, so I’m just not using Electrs anymore. My only case for the Electrs was to connect Sparrow, but I can do that directly in Bitcoin Core, even so, doing this via Tor wasn’t work nice, takes a long time to just connect and sometimes not even connects, so I allowed local connections in the Bitcoin Core, and things went really fast and smooth.

After that I decided to take Fulcrum for a spin (installed on my desktop using initially the Bitcoin Core in my desktop too) and it is awesome, very fast, reliable and eficient. To sync took about 8 hours with some fine tunigs in the process, and when I connected Sparrow took only 2 secs to sync my wallet. After that I transfered the database files to a HD (the sync was made in a NVMe) and connected Fulcrum to Bitcoin Core in the Umbrel. All went fine.