How "insecure" is Umbrel, really?

Hi all
I’m sure we’re all aware of the “experimental” warnings around Umbrel, Lightning, etc.

I’m wondering a couple of things:

1. How “insecure” is Umbrel, really?
  2. How much would you store on Umbrel in channels, etc.
  3. Where do the insecurities come from? Local network? The fact that the app passwords can’t be changed? The “security by obscurity” approach of the apps behind Tor?

Thanks!
JL

I’m no security expert but I think the biggest security risk is this:

1. Somebody you don’t trust may get access to your local network’s wifi password, or plug into it directly via ethernet. Could be a “friend” of a friend, or some worker at your home, etc.
  2. They try the access umbrel.local and then access any of the apps that run on default passwords like ThunderHub.
  3. Log-in with ‘moneyprintergobrrr’, and send out your funds.

To avoid this attack, uninstall all apps that allow sending out funds, and can only run with the default password. Mempool for example is safe, because it doesn’t allow sending out funds, and RTL is safe too because it lets you change the default password. But Thunderhub should be uninstalled.

The same attack can be performed if somebody gets hold of your onion address in some way. All the more reason to uninstall unnecessary apps.

–––

The second biggest issue in my view is the inability to restore funds in channels in case of a catastrophic hardware failure. Any electrical or mechanical failure may render your node inaccessible and unrecoverable.

Your on-chain funds are no problem. You can restore it with the seed as long as you kept is safe.

However, your channels need to be closed down nicely to access your SATS. If you have the channel backups you can issue a command to close those channels down, but you still need an operational Umbrel as far as I understand. You can’t issue that command from another device. (I’m unsure here, please correct me if wrong.)