Mempool gets stuck 5 hours behind

My mempool keeps getting stuck. The only way to get it work again is to uninstall the app and reinstall. TIA for any suggestions on a resolution.

My mempool.space also stopped several times and I had to restart umbrel to make it work. I suspect this issue might have been caused by mempool overflow since the pool got filled with ordinals. Bitcoin is working fine though.

1 Like

try this.

do you accept all types to your node?
The large mempool site ma be accepting transactions you don’t. (RBF for example.)
Im not positive but I think if a user sends a transaction with rbf option your node may not accept it if you dont have it in the options. Not positive about this either
Also correct me if im wrong…your mempool flushed when you restarted
It may not be getting things in the far past that the other mempool has in its memory.
You node is only verifying newer transactions

im far from an expert these are only some ideas

Its fine. it flushed the transactions when you rebooted its only looking back so far when it restarts
something like that.

When you rebooted it didnt jump to 500MB instantly it started loading new transactions.
if you restarted it right now it would have less in its memory than right now.

someone with a better understanding will chime in but im pretty sure that’s the reason.

You can ask in r/BitcoinBeginners and get a answer rather quickly

don’t restart your system’

The mempool flushes transactions if they don’t meet the fee requirement, the memory is full or when you restart.

There is nothing wrong. They will be in a block

your memory will fluctuate eventually it will match or be very close to the one you are looking at online.
All those old stuck transactions need to get pushed through first

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Network#Standard_relaying

I dont know if this will help you

When the block gets mines your node will re validate any transactions.

Transactions get validated twice.