Using bitcoin-cli on umbrel

I’m a new full node user, and umbrel is my first. I’m trying to start learning how to interact with the RPC API using bitcoin-cli (command line interface). I have followed the FAQ entry which relates to SSH and finding the bitcoin-cli, however I can’t get most commands to work.

For example uptime seems to work, but listtransactions, getblockchaininfo fee simply returns “command not found”. Any suggestions? What am I doing wrong?

What commands did you type exactly?

so after typing “~/umbrel/bin/bitcoin-cli” and entering, I then typed: “uptime” which produced a satisfactory result. I then tried “listtransactions” and also “getblockchaininfo” but they produced “command not found”.

You need to reference the path to the executable. For example:

~/umbrel/bin/bitcoin-cli getblockchaininfo
1 Like

aha! Thank you Lounés. I am still new to command line, but it makes sense that the command will only work when referencing the right directory. Awesome.

@louneskmt I have getblockchaininfo working, but can’t seem to get getwalletinfo or gettransaction to work. I run it and it just skips to the next line without any output. Are there certain bitcoin-cli commands that won’t work with Umbrel?

No, they all should work. Maybe you are forgetting an argument or option?

1 Like

Part of my problem is I’m not sure which command I need to use.

I had a channel get closed recently, so I am trying to send those sats on-chain to a mobile wallet. However, I am only able to see the transaction via mempool.space that’s connected to my Umbrel. If I go to a different block explorer and enter the same Transaction ID, it doesn’t find anything. Any ideas on how to fix this? Seems like the transaction is known to my node but not to any other nodes? This was a few days ago and the issue persists…

For the onchain wallet, Umbrel uses LND wallet, so it won’t work with bitcoin-cli (which is Bitcoin Core command line interface).